Administration Office
3251 Poplar Ave.,
Ste 200
Memphis, TN 38111-3613

Macon Cove Campus
5983 Macon Cove
Memphis, TN 38134-7693

Union Avenue Campus
737 Union Avenue
Memphis, TN 38103-3322

Fayette Center

Gill Center

Millington Center

Southeast Center

Whitehaven Center

901/333-STCC *

DATE: December 17, 2001

CONTACT: Calvin Burns, 901/333-5338 or Marilyn Duncan, 901/333-4247

International Honor Society Inducts 83 Local Students

The prestigious international honor society, Phi Theta Kappa, recently inducted 83 students at Southwest Tennessee Community College. More than 200 people attended the induction ceremony held Sunday, December 9, at Southwest's east Memphis campus. To qualify for membership, students must have completed a minimum of 12 hours of coursework and have a grade point average of 3.50 or above.

Inductees included Anju Mann, the wife of Phi Theta Kappa's local president, and Dr. Brenda Leigh Yolles Smith. Smith, who is Chair of the Allied Health and Nursing Department at East Arkansas Community College, is pursing an Associate Degree in Paralegal Studies at Southwest. Two families had double cause for celebration as sisters, Joyce and Faith Mungah and siblings, Paul and Rachel Fitzgerald, were inducted.

Speaking from the theme Celebrations, Traditions, and Customs: The Human Drive for Community. Arch Griffin, Vice Provost and Executive Officer of Southwest's midtown campus, challenged the new members to use their knowledge and skills for the betterment of the community. Participating in the ceremony were Phi Theta Kappa president, Sandip Mann; vice president of service, Richard Turley; vice president of fellowship, Wanda Katchens; secretary, Alicia Lee; newsletter editor, Dorinda Sprague; and advisors, Dr. Johnnie Aldrich, Cecil Coone and Joe Thweatt.

The new inductees are: Kurt Douglas Adams, Memphis; Allison Paige Alsup, Memphis; Heath Eric Augustine, Millington; Shanna Gay Blair, Memphis; Holly G. Bradham, Memphis; Christina Leigh Brown, Memphis; Erin Frances Bruch, Memphis; Michelle Renee Bruss, Cordova; Carol A. Byrd, Memphis; Yolanda Evette Campbell, Memphis; Suzanne Marie Chandler, Bartlett; Kimberly D. Climer, Memphis; Brian Keith Conner, Memphis; David Joseph Delahoussaye, Memphis; Carrie Beth Dunn, Millington; Paul Glenn Fitzgerald, III, Bartlett; Rachel Ann Fitzgerald, Bartlett; Shelley Rhea Fogg, Memphis; Leslie Dale Ford, Cordova; Angela Marie Freeman, Memphis; Dale Beaird Glover, Memphis; Jessica Yates Gronek, Memphis; Rosalind Denise Guy, Memphis; Melissa Sue Hall, Memphis; Sharon Lee Halstead, Millington; Hala Mohamad Hamade, Bartlett; Miriam Delsha Hamer, Byhalia, MS; Jennifer Claire Higgins, Memphis; Tarsha Evette Harris, Memphis; Laneta Diane Hollomon, Memphis; Cheryl S. Jones, Memphis; Rhonda Langley, West Memphis, AR; Allison Paige Manley, Bartlett; Anju Mann, Germantown; Katheryn Ann Martin, Cordova; Virginia Ann Matthews, Memphis; Keith Bryson Mayes, Memphis; Deeanna Renee McKiernan, Memphis; Geoffrey Melton, Memphis; Michah John Mikula, Memphis; Mobeena Mohammad, Memphis; Mark Jerome Moody, Bartlett; Mark Thomas Moser, Arlington; Noella Francine Moss, Memphis; Faith Wairium Mungah, Memphis; Joyce Wanjuhi Mungah; Bethany Anne Murry, Memphis; Arnett Muse, Jr., Memphis; Treda Lachelle Payne, Memphis; Jennifer Nicole Peek, Memphis; Helen Denise Person, Brighton; Eddie Daniel Phillips, Memphis; Sheila C. Porter, Drummonds; Victoria A. Quirantes, Memphis; Kinley LeRoy Ray, Jr., Memphis; Elisheva Reese, Memphis; Erica Gwen Scott, Memphis; Josh Michael Semrau, Cordova; Bennett Alton Simpson, Germantown; Brenda Leigh Yolles Smith, Memphis; LaShana Lynette Smith, Memphis; Tracie Ellen Smith, Memphis; Tammy Lynette Sneed, Millington; Ruba Jalal Sonallah, Memphis; Catherine Diane Sudbury, Millington; Camille Barnell Tabor, Memphis; Morgan L. Tabor, Memphis; Pamela Jane Tappan, Memphis; Brandi Michelle Tartera, Oakland; Cory Danton Taylor, Arlington; John Z. Taylor, Memphis; Scotty Lynn Terry, Memphis; Iolanda Santos Tormin, Cordova; Michael James Thompson, Lakeland; Joy Lynn Truly-Brown, Cordova; Carl Edward Walters, Memphis; Gena Faye Ward, Memphis; Bessie Lynn White, Memphis; Johnathan Lynn Williams, Atoka; Sri S. Yarram; Memphis; Alan Peter Yee, Germantown; Kevin Darnell Youngblood, Memphis; and Galen Nathaniel Bingham Woods, Memphis.

Southwest Tennessee Community College is a Tennessee Board of Regents institution.