Administration Office
3251 Poplar Ave.,
Ste 200
Memphis, TN 38111-3613

Macon Cove Campus
5983 Macon Cove
Memphis, TN 38134-7693

Union Avenue Campus
737 Union Avenue
Memphis, TN 38103-3322

Fayette Center

Gill Center

Millington Center

Southeast Center

Whitehaven Center

901/333-STCC *

DATE: May 23, 2001

CONTACT: Calvin Burns, 901/333-5338 or Marilyn Duncan, 901/333-4247

Finalist List Revised for Presidency of Southwest Tennessee Community College; Dr. Jack Daniels No Longer a Candidate

Chancellor Charles Manning of the Tennessee Board of Regents (TBR) has announced that Dr. Jack E. Daniels III, currently president of Central College in the Houston, Texas Community College System, has withdrawn his bid to become president of Southwest Tennessee Community College. Chancellor Manning said Dr. Daniels has accepted another position. He added that the campus interviews with the remaining two candidates, Dr. Nathan Essex and Dr. Karin Pettit, will proceed as scheduled on May 31 and June 1.

The Tennessee Board of Regents is the nation's sixth largest higher education system, governing 45 post-secondary educational institutions. The TBR system includes 6 universities, 13 two-year colleges and 26 technology centers, providing programs to more than 180,000 students in 90 of Tennessee's 95 counties.

Southwest Tennessee Community College was founded July 1, 2000. It is the largest community college in the TBR system. The College offers Associate of Arts and Associate of Science degrees for transfer to four-year colleges and universities, Associate of Applied Science degrees for immediate career entry, and Technical and Academic certificates to prepare individuals for entry-level positions in the marketplace.

Southwest Tennessee Community College is a Tennessee Board of Regents institution.