Administration Office
3251 Poplar Ave.,
Ste 200
Memphis, TN 38111-3613

Macon Cove Campus
5983 Macon Cove
Memphis, TN 38134-7693

Union Avenue Campus
737 Union Avenue
Memphis, TN 38103-3322

Fayette Center

Gill Center

Millington Center

Southeast Center

Whitehaven Center

901/333-STCC *

DATE: May 7, 2001

CONTACT: Calvin Burns, 901/333-5338 or Marilyn Duncan, 901/333-4247

STCC's Liberal Studies And Education Division Receives Quality Award

The Greater Memphis Association for Quality (GMAQ) has named the Liberal Studies and Education Division at Southwest Tennessee Community College a recipient of the 2001 LeveI I Quality Award. Dr. Ada Shotwell serves as Dean of Liberal Studies and Education at STCC. She was recognized with the other recipients during a luncheon on Tuesday, May 1, at the Memphis Marriott. GMAQ's Level I Award is given to organizations that have demonstrated a commitment to providing quality services.

Dr. Nathan Essex, Interim President at STCC, made the following observation about the honor: "I am delighted that our Liberal Studies and Education Division received the Level I Quality Award from the Greater Memphis Association for Quality. This level of recognition places us in the company of both Christian Brothers University and The University of Memphis. We congratulate Dr. Shotwell, her faculty and staff for this outstanding accomplishment. It brings honor and recognition not only to the division but to STCC as well."

The GMAQ Award was established in 1993 and is based on the National Malcolm Baldrige Quality Award. GMAQ is a non-profit association that promotes performance excellence in the workplace through a self-assessment process based on the seven-point Malcolm Baldrige Criteria. The group names winners for: Quality Commitment, Quality Progress, Quality Leadership and the prestigious Pyramid of Excellence Award.

Andrew Mohler of Buckman Laboratories heads the GMAQ Board of Directors. Mohler said the organization is comprised of more than 50 companies and institutions. He added that the GMAQ Quality Award recipients are selected by a blue-ribbon panel of judges.

Southwest Tennessee Community College was founded July 1, 2000, consolidating the legacies of State Technical Institute at Memphis and Shelby State Community College. It is the largest community college in the Tennessee Board of Regents system. The College offers Associate of Arts and Associate of Science degrees for transfer to four-year colleges and universities, Associate of Applied Science degrees for immediate career entry into technical, business, service, education and allied health fields and Technical and Academic certificates to prepare individuals for entry level positions in the marketplace.

Southwest Tennessee Community College is a Tennessee Board of Regents institution.