Administration Office
3251 Poplar Ave.,
Ste 200
Memphis, TN 38111-3613

Macon Cove Campus
5983 Macon Cove
Memphis, TN 38134-7693

Union Avenue Campus
737 Union Avenue
Memphis, TN 38103-3322

Fayette Center

Gill Center

Millington Center

Southeast Center

Whitehaven Center

901/333-STCC *

DATE: November 8, 2001

CONTACT: Calvin Burns, 901/333-5338 or Marilyn Duncan 901/333-4247

STCC Named Best New Delegation to Tennessee Intercollegiate Legislature

Southwest Tennessee Community College was well represented by 14 of its students at the 2001 General Assembly of the Tennessee Intercollegiate Legislature (TISL), October 31-November 4, on Capitol Hill in Nashville. Southwest was one of 17 institutions of higher learning in the state to compete at the Intercollegiate Legislature. TISL organizers were so impressed with the College's presentations at the five-day event, they selected Southwest for the Best New Delegation honor. The award was presented Sunday, November 4, following an address by Attorney General Paul G. Summers.

Organizers of the event said that the winners of the Best New Delegation category are evaluated on dress, communication skills, leadership skills and attendance. They added that numerous members of the State House of Representatives and other elected officials were very impressed with Southwest's students.

The students who represented Southwest at the General Assembly of TISL are: April King, John Holliday, Morgan Tabor, Deanna McKiernan, Faith Mungah, Joyce Mungah, Walter Watson, Kendrick Dandridge, Templeton Thompson, Kenneth Williams, Jeremy Holloway, Teshie Dotson, Connie Herron and Pam Powell.

Delegates to the General Assembly of TISL met in the State House and Senate chambers where they wrote, corrected, presented, debated, won and lost legislation. Of the legislation that passed both the House and the Senate, 10 bills were selected as Priority Legislation by the Executive Council of TISL. The Executive Council then presented those bills to the Tennessee General Assembly to be considered for action during the next legislative session.

Established in 1966 by Dr. Douglas Carlisle of the University of Tennessee, TISL is the oldest statewide student leadership association in the United States. The organization is designed to provide practical experience in leadership, the legislative processes and parliamentary procedure. All regionally accredited public and private colleges and universities are eligible for membership in TISL.

With nearly 13,000 students, Southwest is the largest community college in the Tennessee Board of Regents system. The College offers Associate of Arts and Associate of Science degrees for transfer to four-year colleges and universities; Associate of Applied Science degrees for immediate career entry into technical, business, service, education and allied health fields; and Technical and Academic certificates to prepare individuals for entry-level positions in the marketplace.

Southwest Tennessee Community College is a Tennessee Board of Regents institution.