Macon Cove Campus
5983 Macon Cove
Memphis, TN 38134-7693

Union Avenue Campus
737 Union Avenue
Memphis, TN 38103-3322

Fayette Center

Gill Center

Millington Center

Southeast Center

Whitehaven Center

901/333-STCC *

DATE: March 22, 2002
CONTACT: Calvin Burns, (901) 333-5338 or Marilyn Duncan, (901) 333-4247

U.S. Representative Harold Ford, Jr. to Address Southwest's Honors Convocation

U.S. Representative Harold Ford, Jr. will give the keynote address for the Southwest Tennessee Community College (Southwest) Honors Convocation at
3 p.m., Thursday, March 28. The Honors Convocation will convene in the City Council Chambers at City Hall, 125 North Main Street. This cultural outreach initiative culminates Honors Week at Southwest. It is free and open to the public.

The City as Text is the theme for this year's Honors observance. Designed as a special Honors learning model, The City as Text is aimed at having Honors Students focus on how a college can use its resources to enhance the quality of life for the citizenry.

The keynote speaker at the 2000 Democratic National Convention, Congressman Harold E. Ford, Jr., (TN-09) was elected to the House of Representatives in 1996 at age 26, re-elected in 1998 with nearly 80 percent of the vote, and again in 2000 with no opposition. One of the youngest members of Congress, Ford lists improving education as one of his main priorities.

Clarence Christian, Associate Professor of Social Science, is the director of Southwest's Honors Program. "Honors Week is designed to recognize and give special awards to students for their outstanding achievements in academics, community service, leadership and creative performance," Christian said.

Recognition will be given to students who made the Dean's List, Phi Theta Kappa, Who's Who, All-American Scholars, Honors Academy Scholars, Student Government Association leaders and club leaders.

For more information about Honors Week and Southwest's Honors Program, call the College at (901) 333-5203.

Southwest Tennessee Community College is a Tennessee Board of Regents institution.