Southwest Tennessee Community College

March 14, 2006

For More Information, Contact: Keith Gentry (901) 333-4114/ (901) 619-1899 / Kimberly Kreider (901) 333-4023

Release written by Keith Gentry

Two women’s and three men’s basketball players from Southwest have been selected all-conference by the Tennessee Junior and Community College Athletic Association including two first-team honorees.

Imesia Jackson, a sophomore forward from Crawford, Mississippi, was voted first-team All-TJCCAA and was third in voting for conference Player of the Year. Jackson led the Lady Saluqis in scoring (18.9), rebounding (10.9), field goal percentage (.608), field goals made (211), field goals attempted (347), free throws made (106), free throws attempted (173), blocked shots (37), and minutes played (796). She recorded an incredible 19 double-doubles (at least 10 points and 10 rebounds) including high-games of 29 points against Cleveland State and 19 rebounds versus Hiwassee. In her two-year career at Southwest, Jackson scored 825 points, which ranks her 8th in Lady Saluqis’ history. She also ranks in the top 10 in free throws attempted (299/2nd), field goal percentage (.618/3rd), free throws made (191/3rd), rebounds (506/7th), blocked shots (74/7th), scoring average (15.6/9th) and rebounding average (9.5/9th).

Named to the third team was sophomore point guard Porshia Willis, who averaged 9.4 points per game and led the Lady Saluqis with 133 assists, 69 steals, and a .783 free throw percentage. Willis, a product of Kirby High School in Memphis, was also among the team leaders with 34 three point field goals and 724 minutes played. In her career, ranks in the top 10 in free throw percentage (.738/3rd), assists (255/6th), and steals (122/7th).

Women’s All-TJCCAA
First Team
Sade Logan, Chattanooga State; Amber Penn, Columbia State; Leanne Pelham, Motlow State; T’Qwana Pendergrast, Motlow State; Zena Lawrence, St. Catharine; Imesia Jackson, Southwest

Second Team
Chaquaila Gaten, Cleveland State; Ashley McDonald, Chattanooga State; Monica Mull, Hiwassee; Angela Willis, Roane State; Vicky Blanchard, Walters State

Third Team
Whitney Linton, Chattanooga State; Teresa Carter, Columbia State; Chloe Taylor, Jackson State; Kellie Childress, St. Catharine; Porshia Willis, Southwest; Tiffany Daniel, Volunteer State; Tarica Jefferson, Walters State

TJCCAA Player of the Year – Sade Logan, Chattanooga State
TJCCAA Coach of the Year – Karen Serra, Motlow State