Since its establishment in July 2000, Southwest has melted the legacies of two institutions into a twenty-first century college that truly is "greater than the sum of its parts." The largest community college in the Tennessee Board of Regents system, its multiple locations include two main campuses, four center locations and one sites. Southwest's various locations make getting a degree more convenient. The College's two main campuses serve a population of more than 650,000 residents in a five-mile radius of either location.